Week 8

What do need to still learn about NGL?
How will you learn it?
How did you learn it?

Keep calm and carry on

Keep calm and carry on by Scott Roberts via Flickr

What do I still need to learn about NGL? Loads. Although, thanks to this course I now understand the complexities and challenges involved in utilising NGL for formal education (as teacher) or formal learning (as learner or student). Looking at Assignment 2, it looks like the remainder of the course will help me explore this further and learn more about what I still need to learn. I also think that I am ready to learn more about and  explore the potential solutions that might help address the challenges of NGL.

My context as a teacher is supporting academic staff in Higher education. They have many characteristics but a universal characteristic is how time poor they are and the competing demands placed upon them. As a teacher I need to learn how to harness NGL without alienating learners and this means catering to different requirements and preferences. It also means ensuring that academic staff don’t feel as though they must invest significant time before they get satisfaction. I think what Dede talks about in David’s favourite quote could be very useful here. Learners have different preferences and NGL isn’t for everyone –  it is one way (amongst a number of ways) that learners are able to choose to learn. The upside of NGL in my context is the ability for academics to engage in their own time and at their own pace. Building on this positive, Simon McIntyre  recently published an article that acknowledges that universities are the opposite of agile and that change takes time, even when the need for it is accepted. He suggests academics should be looking outward rather than inward for professional development and that systemic change can come from the bottom up through “disruptive innovaton”. This might be an interesting read for Deb who mentions the challenges of achieving a “paradigm shift in a large institution” and the need for incremental change.

How will I learn it? As a learner and student, I had already adopted NGL as part of my practice on a daily basis prior to taking this course. However since taking EDU8117 I can now see further opportunities for utilising NGL for networking, collaboration and learning. I can also see potential to do this more strategically. My foray into NGL began in an organic and ad hoc fashion, but now I am thinking about it more deliberately. EDU8117 has helped me become more courageous about baring my soul to the global community. So one potential barrier to my effective utilisation of NGL opportunities is now dismantled.

References

McIntyre, S. (2014). Reducing the digital literacy divide through disruptive innovation. HERDSA Review of Higher Education,                               1, 83. http://www.herdsa.org.au/wp-content/uploads/HERDSARHE2014v01p83.pdf

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debliriges
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 17:35:33

    Thanks for the suggestion gg, I’ll check it out
    Deb

    Reply

  2. ggdines
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 17:44:18

    It’s my pleasure. I would be interested to hear what you think.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: As a student, participation in NGL was useful for me | GG's Blog
  4. Trackback: As a learner, participation in NGL was useful for me. | GG's Blog
  5. Trackback: How NGL can inform my role as teacher. | GG's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow GG's Blog on WordPress.com
