Week 3 Diigo activity reflection: an experiment in self, peer and teacher assessment of your work

So I have just (mostly) completed this activity following Davids instructions in the Week 3 notes.

I have shared and tagged my chosen blog post via the Diigo NGL group page but you can also view the annotated page here: https://diigo.com/023idg

Here are my thoughts:

  • It took me a while to get Diigo to work for me and do what I wanted to do. This is good. As someone that supports university staff, the more I understand and experience this, the better I will be “as teacher”. So experiencing this activity “as student” has great learning opportunities that will improve my practice, philosophy and approach “as teacher”.
  • I wonder about how much personality type plays in self assessment tasks and whether it has an impact on generous vs less generous assessment of oneself…I think having peers and the teacher involved in the process should balance this out.
  • I do like what Diigo can achieve as a tool in terms of sharing, annotation and sticky notes.
  • On the flip side I worry about how much has already been shared via our NGL tools and how I will possibly keep across it all and still get all my reading and tasks completed. I just keep telling myself that I simply cant read everything that everyone has shared. Diigo actually claims to help people overcome information overload – so its ironic that I am viewing it as a source of information overload!
  • I was unable to conduct a peer assessment as the only other items tagged spta were David’s – and I wasnt sure if they counted.
  • Looking forward to a peer assessing my contribution.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Jones
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 14:01:51

    G’day Goksu,

    Hopefully this particular activity won’t add too much to the information overload. You won’t be expected to keep up with this. My thought was this was a one-off task with two aims. First, experiment with Diigo and see how it works. Second, a slightly authentic task that would require you to engage a bit more deeply with the rubric and help identify any areas of confusion.

    Feel free to do a peer assessment on mine, but also feel free to wait until someone else catches up.

    Your comment on personality resonated with me. I had to keep telling myself don’t be too hard on yourself.

    David.

    Reply

    • ggdines
      Aug 18, 2014 @ 14:11:50

      Hi David, not worried about information overload, but more acknowledging the irony of it. Yes the personality question is an interesting one….

      Reply

  2. Annelise Mitchell
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 20:14:01

    Hi Goksu,

    I just did a post commenting on your comments about Diigo. I’m also experiencing the same thing and am glad to see that we’re in the same boat.

    It’s great to see that we both haven’t toppled over. 😀

    Reply

    • ggdines
      Aug 20, 2014 @ 08:27:27

      Indeed! I am beginning to think that an element of network literacy might be to “resist urges to be overwhelmed”. It is all so big that I regularly find myself heading that way and then veer back……

      Reply

  3. Trackback: As a student, participation in NGL was useful for me | GG's Blog
  4. Trackback: As a learner, participation in NGL was useful for me. | GG's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow GG's Blog on WordPress.com
