Week 1: Your identity online (Minute paper)

What is the most significant thing your learnt from the above?

This exercise reinforces my belief that your online identity requires careful thought and tending to. Like a garden – if you don’t look after it and care for it – you may end up with something that is out of your control or doesn’t quite appear as you would like…..

Narcissus-Caravaggio_(1594-96)_edited

Narcissus (Carravaggio)

What question/problem remains uppermost in your mind?

  • Is there an element of narcissism in “believing your press” in relation to your online identity or how many followers or friends you have? I like the philosophy of openness and sharing around NGL but this aspect around narcissism bothers me I have to say.
  • I am struggling with bearing myself to the world – and I am feeling a little exposed. I don’t flatter myself by thinking that many people are interested – or is that my way of protecting myself from rejection?
  • In light of this I am trying to keep my posts to the point and avoiding “manifesto’s” – no one has time for this. I say what needs to be said but QUICKLY!
  • I also have issues around my online identity being hijacked for purposes that I never intended to be involved with….

 

Image

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracey Coulton
    Aug 04, 2014 @ 21:43:27

    I know what you mean, but the information and connections you get on twitter is such quality you can’t miss out. Tracey

    Reply

    • ggdines
      Aug 05, 2014 @ 07:49:34

      Hi Tracey
      I have to agree that Twitter has many more upsides than down and is worth the effort. I think what I am trying to say (perhaps not very well) – is that I love the philosophy behind NGL and some of the original people that have contributed to its existence. BUT there are a lot of players in the field that we should acknowledge and recognise as corporations with a pure profit motive. I wonder about the consequences of this for those motivated by factors other than profit and how that relationship between non-profit motivations vs profit motivations will develop or play out.

      Reply

  2. Mari
    Aug 05, 2014 @ 00:16:35

    Hi Goksu,

    I also have a bit of a concern about online privacy and unnecessary exposure. It seems like such an a lengthy and unnatural process to set up privacy filters on social networking sites like facebook, that I’ve sort of given up! Clay Shirky also pointed out this dilemma in the video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=LabqeJEOQyI) posted in the week 2 course notes. Something that usually makes me feel better, is the fact that there is just SO much stuff out there to read, that it is very unlikely that anyone would be bored enough to go through all the trouble using my information in illicit ways 😉

    Mari

    Reply

    • ggdines
      Aug 05, 2014 @ 07:56:21

      Hi Mari
      Yes the word arduous does come to mind…And I wonder if this is because there is a clash of motivations between users and providers….Users want to filter out that stuff because it is painful and unsolicited. Providers are motivated by profit so will try anything to get through our filters. Maybe, if we want “stuff” like web 2.0 tools to be free – this might be the price we pay. So I agree with Clay Shirky in that it is about filters to a certain extent. But as the sophistication and skill levels required to set up those filters becomes more complicated, does it also become out of reach for the “average punter”?

      Reply

  3. Annelise Mitchell
    Aug 08, 2014 @ 10:28:34

    Hi GG,

    I too like the philsophy of openness and sharing, and one of the things that I think this course encourages is “giving back.” I have been using the web since 1998 and I think it is now time for me to contribute to areas that I have learnt so much from.

    In regards to manifestos, you’ll only read the one’s you are interested in. I find that if someone is writing about a topic, and they may be really passionate about it, I won’t continue reading if I am not interested in what they are doing. However, if I really love the area as well, and it really means something to me, I will continue reading. There are some posts that I don’t want to end and I’ve realised it is because I really want to know more about the area.

    Have you found this?

    Regards,
    Annelise

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Week 7: Being critical | GG's Blog
  5. Trackback: As a student, participation in NGL was useful for me | GG's Blog
  6. Trackback: As a learner, participation in NGL was useful for me. | GG's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow GG's Blog on WordPress.com
