Week 1: Me as learner

Well first of all, there are so many things I would like to learn! Lifelong learner – that’s me! I love it. So to have the opportunity to give myself the time to learn something new from my bucket list? Great! To do it with an NGL approach? Not sure…but I will give it a go. I have “dipped my toe in” to learning with an NGL approach – I just hadn’t dived in completely. So here goes.

I am sharing a TED talk by Sugata Mitra where he talks about Building a School in the Cloud (sometimes referred to as the Granny Cloud). If you haven’t seen this it is well worth your time and is a fine example of networked and global learning. The Granny Cloud Website is also worth a look.

What would I like to learn? I have deliberately decided to make it something that isn’t about education or ed tech – something for which I don’t have any established networks. I plan to learn about making cheese in warm climates. I am interested in taking an artisan approach to life and understanding the hows and whys of making things we all use daily: bread, soap, cheese, growing vegetables etc. Living in SE QLD – I would love to know if there is a way to do this… I recently watched a program on cheese makers in Brazil who make cheese in a humid subtropical climate without refrigeration or even any obvious climate control interventions. I have to say that I was fascinated. Also I don’t know much about what networks are out there for cheese makers so it will be interesting to see how developed they are. The benefits will be that I will (hopefully) find and become part of a wider global network of cheese makers and learn from their knowledge and expertise. The end result might be that I am able to make cheese successfully without climate control. I don’t really see any barriers.

What is learning? I touch on this in an earlier post, I like to think of learning as a journey that begins with Knowing, extends to Doing and ends with Being. Wherever possible learning is best when it is transformative – and for me that means Being what you learn.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annelise Mitchell
    Aug 08, 2014 @ 09:31:17

    Hi GG,

    Wow, making cheese will be a really interesting and rewarding thing to learn. I’m fascinated about how they go about making cheese and always take whatever opportunity I can to visit cheese making factories.

    I look forward to learning about cheese making through your posts GG!

    Regards,
    Annelise 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Catching up on the NGL participation – part B | The Weblog of (a) David Jones

Leave a Reply

Follow GG's Blog on WordPress.com
